Image by Alisha Hieb

 OUR TEAM

MEET ALEXA

Image by Lara Baeriswyl

Provider

Hi! My name is Alexa and I am originally from the Finger Lakes region of New York State. While it was a great place to grow up, I was ready for a change of scenery after graduating college. After spending the summer of 2020 in SLC, Utah, I was ready to move back to a Mountain State and relocated to Longmont, Colorado, in 2021. 

I work with children at a local YMCA, and my primary experience with children is through working as an Inclusion Specialist at summer day camps with children ages 5-12 years old. During this experience, I was paired 1-1 with children with developmental disabilities and supported them as they integrated into a traditional camp setting. Being a part of a community and having a sense of belonging is something that I value, so I strive to help others find the same in their life. 

In addition to my camp experience, I have been working with Babysitters Of Boulder sitting for older infants, toddlers and a temporary position as a part time nanny for twin 4 year olds. I have also found great joy in looking after my 3-year-old nephew and watching his personality begin to shine through. One of my favorite things about working with children is seeing all of their qualities. As an adult, it can be easy to lose sight of these positive or "childlike" qualities and take life so seriously. I truly believe that as an adult, we can choose to regain these qualities which would empower us to become better adults.  

A little bit more about me... I graduated from Ithaca College and received a degree in Therapeutic Recreation. I have a passion for helping people along their journey to recovery, from whatever that may be. I enjoy spending time outdoors, hiking, biking, and doing yoga. I also enjoy being around horses and look forward to expanding my knowledge and experience with equine-assisted activities and therapy. 

WHAT PARENTS SAY

"I was a supervisor with the summer day camp program where Alexa was one of our inclusion specialists. Our specialists work with youth ages 3-24, including adults with disabilities. They do arts & crafts, drama/theatre & kids’ games (tag, dodgeball). I had many opportunities to directly observe Alexa working with kids. Each specialist was assigned one child as a 1:1 and she also worked with several kids, because sometimes an assigned child was absent. Alexa is very calm and brings a sense of ease, if there is ever a problem to solve she was confident and came up with solutions and took instructions very well.  Absolutely reliable and followed through on shifts. Very timely and reliable. She is wonderful to work with and would be a great addition to a childcare program or a family.”  - Kristi R. 

“Alexa was a student of mine at Ithaca College as part of the course I taught, ‘Understanding Disability’ for the Therapeutic Recreation degree program. The course included in-person coursework during the semester, where each student worked closely with a child with a disability diagnosis. Alexa worked in a swim program with a 5 year old. She was wonderful, great, and she would be a wonderful addition to any childcare program.” - Joanie G.