Image by Alisha Hieb

 OUR TEAM

MEET JONETTA

j quote 2_edited.jpg

Provider

I have taken care of infants and youth for over 15 years, and I am a mother of two. I have also provided mental health services, autism care services as well as ABA therapy to children ages 3 and up. In 2020 I completed a 40 hour training towards becoming registered behavioral therapist, and will be sitting for my exam soon. I enjoy cooking, baking, going to the park and swimming with the kids I am sitting. I have been certified in CPR and First Aid. I have experience working with kids in different settings such as in homes, schools, summer camp, and treatment facilities. I have worked with the family as a unit and have experience with parent education. I truly believe that anything is possible and I live by these words.

My passion for working with youth began in high school. I worked part time at Denver Parks and Recreation for six years including as camp counselor for youth summer programs and programing related to youth ages 5-14. While attending college, I worked for multiple offices including as Office Assistant for Students with Disabilities providing support for students when they came in for services, going to class with students for note taking, and tutoring students needing academic support. I continued my education and developed a passion for work in the community after completing my first internship at a youth center. I received their Superior Standards Scholarship and went on to become one of the first people in my immediate family to graduate from college. I have an Associate's Degree in Criminal Justice.  

I have worked as Treatment Counselor for a shelter ensuring the safety of youth and families through combined juvenile assessment and crisis intervention working with children as young as five. I also dedicated two years working with adults who have developmental and intellectual disabilities.  I worked at a nonprofit in Thorton offering residential and day services to people with disabilities. I used art therapy to support clients’ individuals needs while teaching life skills. I worked with families at the Salvation Army family center, and have provided behavior therapy to youth and adults who have Autism.

 

I am most proud of my professional accomplishments with differently-abled individuals and youth, providing superior childcare to infants and children in the home setting, and personally of becoming a mother of two. 

WHAT PARENTS and SUPERVISORS SAY

"Jonetta was employed with Denver Parks & Recreation and Recreation Center from 2004 to 2011. During her time, Jonetta worked as a Recreation Aide, providing front desk and youth program support. Her responsibilities varied depending on the day or season and included customer service and set-up and break-down of classes. Her other main duty was as a staff member of our summer day camp which ran for ten weeks throughout the summer. She assisted with coordinating and implementing activities for youth ages 5- 14 years old. Jonetta also taught a youth jewelry class we had for ages 10-14, which ran for eight weeks. Jonetta is a very ambitious and responsible person. I would recommend her for any position for which she applies." - Christie G.

"Jonetta was part of my childcare agency in Denver from May to November or December of 2021 when she moved to Boulder. She worked with all ages including infants, and variety of children and families including some children with autism diagnoses. Jonetta was very reliable and parents shared that she was patient, skilled, pleasant to work with, flexible and on time. She followed through on her commitments including recurring care for a young boy on the autism spectrum which was a booking with some very advanced and challenging aspects that called for patience and experience. I can attest to that as this was a family I cared for myself as the owner of this childcare group. Jonetta could certainly come back to our team if she ever moves back to Denver!" - Jaidene A., agency owner