Image by Alisha Hieb

 OUR TEAM

MEET KENAI

Image by Amanda Bartel

Provider, Tutor/Para Educator

Hi, my name is Kenai, pronounced like a "Keen Eye!" I grew up in Boulder, but I've also lived in Redlands, California, Chicago, Illinois, and Kunshan, China. I have my BA in Asian Studies with a focus on Women's Empowerment and a minor in Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies. My experience with youth includes being a babysitter, a high school study hall coordinator, a family literacy coordinator, a summer camp academic instructor for immigrant and refugee 3rd and 4th graders, a summer camp counselor for international adoptees and an academic tutor and para educator in Boulder County. The bulk of my experience is with children ages 4 and older (tutoring etc.), and I have toddler experience for ages 1+, from working in the nursery at my church over a period of two years. Families I've worked with describe me as a very positive person with a very uplifting personality!

During my time as a Family Literacy Program Coordinator with an aid association, I held many responsibilities, including:

  • supported immigrant and refugee families to develop their English literacy skills

  • planned, organized and implemented 5 program components of adult ESL classes, children’s education, parenting education, library trips & family field trips

  • increased participation in program and retention rates through building strong relationships

  • coordinated engaging activities (museum and symphony trips) and enriching services

 

My childcare philosophy centers on respecting each child as an individual and their evolving sense of self, and supporting their growth, curiosity, and social emotional health and development. I prioritize the importance of getting to know each individual and developing an authentic and caring relationship. I strongly encourage all forms of learning - in the outdoors, indoors, social settings, etc. In particular, I have solid experience in the literacy realm as a tutor and educator.

Other facts about me...I was adopted from China as a baby and have a sibling adopted from Vietnam! I love hiking, traveling, cats, attending spoken word poetry performances and snorkeling.

WHAT PARENTS SAY

“Kenai babysat my boys when they were toddlers. She also watched them and other children at our church nursery for several years. She was great! Very professional and enthusiastic. Kind and always on time to babysit. Just a very positive person, and a great person to be working with children. She is a really a positive influence.” - Jessie H. 

"I supervised Kenai for two years at the aid association, where we worked with immigrant families and children. Kenai was great. She was very reliable and did very culturally competent work. She spent a lot of time figuring out creative ways to reach and engage the community and she is really a problem solver and a quick learner. Some of her programming included leading a Zoom summer camp for 15 to 20 kids, as well as spending other days working in person with about 10 kids at a time. She created activities for the children to really engage them. She was great one-on-one with kids too. Overall she is just great and I would definitely recommend her!" - Margaret S.